Sixth aim:

Permanent Membership

Ecumenical, International, Academic

The editorial committee is based at Sant’Anselmo, Rome, two as faculty members and one as a doctoral student, thus emphasising the continuity with the pre-conciliar work on the RED corpus. We have received the endorsement of the President’s Council of the Pontifical Institute of Liturgy (PIL) under the guidance of Juan Javier Flores Arcas OSB. Professor Ephrem Carr OSB, of the same faculty, has agreed to moderate our work. Professor Carr is the well-respected and experienced editor of the academic journal Ecclesia Orans and of the collection Studia Anselmiana. In addition he brings insights from his research and teaching on eastern liturgies and his role as consultor for the Liturgical Commission of the Vatican Congregation of Oriental Churches.

Although the membership of the extended conversation may be fluid, a central group of permanent members, who share the vision, is being established. Already research partners in the United Kingdom and Ireland, North America and Australia situate the international context for this conversation, thereby ensuring a proper depth and breadth of reflection.

In the course of our ongoing conversation, the permanent membership will endeavour to nurture new scholars, drawing them into the conversation, assisting them with their intellectual and professional development and making opportunities available to them to present at the colloquia. The permanent membership of the project is:


Rev’d Ephrem Carr OSBPontifical Institute of Liturgy, Rome



Rev’d James Leachman OSBPontifical Institute of Liturgy, Rome

Rev’d Daniel McCarthy OSBPontifical Institute of Liturgy, Rome


Permanent members, Europe:

V. Rev’d George Guiver CR (Church of England) University of Leeds, England

Rev’d Dr John Lampard (Methodist)England

Dr Bridget Nichols (Church of England)Diocese of Ely, England

Pastor Nils-Henrik Nilsson (Lutheran)Sweden

Rev’d Dr Tom Whelan CSSpMilltown Institute, Ireland

Dr. Basilius GroenInstitute of Liturgy, Christian Art and Hymnology, Graz, Austria,


Permanent members, Australasia:

Very Rev’d Anscar Chupungco OSBSan Beda College, Manila, Philippines

Rev’d Barry M. CraigDiocese of Cairns, Australia

Dr Gerard MooreSydney College of Divinity, Australia

V. Rev’d Dr David Orr OSBArcadia Priory, Australia

Dr Carmel Pilcher RSJDiocese of Maitland-Newcastle, Australia


Permanent members, North America:

Dr Sharon McMillan SNDSt Patrick’s Seminary, Menlo Park, CA

Pastor Frank Senn (Lutheran)Immanuel Lutheran Church Evanston, IL

Rev’d Dr Paul Turner Diocese of Kansas City-St Joseph, MO

Prof. Geoffrey Wainwright (Methodist)Duke University, NC, USA.

Rev’d Dr Karen Westerfield Tucker (Methodist) Boston University, MA

Annual Membership

Ecumenical, International, Academic

Student Membership

Ecumenical, International, Academic

We invite graduate students in liturgy to associate themselves with our research.



Image: Participants at the inaugural colloquium at Sant’Anselmo are from left to right:

John Lampard, Anthony Igbekele, Patrick Regan, + Cuthbert Brogan, James Leachman, Bridget Nichols, Daniel McCarthy, Ephrem Carr.

They stand below the mosaic of Joseph and Jesus in the cloister of Sant’Anselmo.